Tuesday, July 24, 2018

South Brisbane Public Library

I love this building, it is so elegant.  It was designed by Francis Drummond Greville Stanley and built from 1881 to 1902 by W Macfarlane. This complex is composed of three structures built at different times in response to different needs: the South Brisbane Post Office (1881); the South Brisbane Municipal Library (1897); and the City Concert Hall (1902)
It is also known as South Brisbane School of Arts, South Brisbane Mechanics Institute, South Brisbane Technical College, and South Brisbane Post & Telegraph Office. It is now the Griffith University Film School.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...